A FREE MEAL

Although our fellow gardeners show respect and stay out of our garden, the animals wander in anytime they like.

This requires the need for a fence, something that never occurred to me before we rented the space.

I called my local extension agency and spoke to a master gardener to see if there was something less expensive I could try to keep the critters from coming in for a free meal.

“Well, there are some things they don’t eat,” she said. “But if you’re going to give them a smorgasbord, they’re going to eat it.”

She put me on hold to consult with another master gardener before giving me advice.

So, if I plant it, they will come? I thought.

I was hoping for that effect on my fifth-grader, who does not like vegetables.

“Let me see if I can drown these beets,” he said on Sunday, as he watered the garden.

I hoped that by offering him a smorgasbord of homegrown tomatoes, peppers, onions, broccoli, parsley, cilantro and beets, he might develop a taste for vegetables.

I’m trying to keep the animals that like my vegetables out of the garden and the sweet child who doesn’t like my vegetables in my garden.

How is that going to work?

The master gardener returned to the telephone. She is going to send me some information in the mail.

–c

Leave a Reply

