FIRST DAFFODIL OF SPRING

001 daffodil

I feel like this daffodil.

My sister picked it from her yard before the latest snowfall and placed it on her kitchen windowsill.

Like this flower, I’m stuck inside the warm house and looking out my window for signs of spring.

The yellow bud itself gives me hope. The days are getting longer. Maybe robin sightings will follow. I’m ready for the snow to melt to make way for green grass. I want to think about wearing short sleeves again.

Thank you, February for being a brief month. And thank you, daffodil, for assuring me that spring is ready to appear even as winter drops more snow.

One response to “FIRST DAFFODIL OF SPRING

Leave a Reply

